A Brief History

The Episcopal Diocese of North Central Philippines was formed out of a division of the Diocese of Central Philippines in February 1989 when the Annual Diocesan Convention elected The Rev. Dr. Artemio M. Zabala as its first bishop.  The Diocese consists of Episcopal Congregations in Baguio City, the provinces of Benguet, La Union, Pangasinan, Tarlac, Southern Nueva Vizcaya and Zambales.

In July 1990, an earthquake hit Baguio City and destroyed its Cathedral.  Plans for rebuilding were immediately set up.  Meanwhile, the diocese deployed personnel to Lawin, Zambales for relief and rehabilitation work which led to the eventual formation of a new congregation from among the natives in that area.

The year after, Bishop Zabala resigned from  his jurisdiction to be ECP’s missionary to the Diocese of Los Angeles. The Convention of January 1993 elected The Rt. Rev. Joel A. Pachao to be its second bishop.  He continued the work of rebuilding the Cathedral and in 2000, the New Cathedral was consecrated for use.